Sound the Bells!

January 21, 2011

2011 Harmonia Mundi The Bay Brass

Included Works

About the Album

San Francisco-based ensemble The Bay Brass presents a showcase of American music both rousing and moving with these first recordings of recent works by John Williams, Michael Tilson Thomas, Morten Lauridsen and others. The Bay Brass was founded in 1995 and is composed of brass players from the San Francisco Bay Area s leading performing organizations, including the San Francisco Symphony, the San Francisco Ballet and the San Francisco Opera Orchestra. The group prides itself on the diversity of its programming, combining the traditional brass repertory with jazz and other contemporary styles and featuring a mix of large-scale symphonic brass ensemble works and compositions for smaller combinations of players. The album s recording engineer is Sean Murphy, an Oscar® and Emmy® award winning mixer/engineer who has worked on hit films such as Saving Private Ryan, Titanic, The Green Hornet and many others.

1. Sound the Bells ! (Williams)

2. Fanfare for a Festive Occasion

3. Aloft... to the Royal Masthead!

4. I. Street Song (Tilson Thomas)

5. II

6. III

7. Fanfare for Brass Sextet (Lauridsen)

8. O Magnum Mysterium

9. Fanfares (Broughton)

10. Marches

11. Hymns

12. Finale

13. Elegy for Brass (Puts)

14. Spirals (Hiltzik)

No items found.